Current Reads

I have been MIA for a few months. I finished Frankenstein, graduated college, my daughter turned one, and my husband and I are trying to narrow down grad school contenders. While all this has been going on I have been reading. The following is a current list of what I have been slowly devouring:

  • Middlemarch by George Eliot (A very long novel that is totally worth the time and effort.)
  • Lodore by Mary Shelley (This is the last novel she wrote. It is tragic and beautiful and made me ugly cry.)
  • The Ruby Red Trilogy by Kristin Gier and translated by Anthea Bell (I usually don’t read much YA fiction, but sometimes I need something a little lighter.)
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (this was my first time reading it. I liked it more than Sense and Sensibility but less than Northanger Abbey. I love Northanger Abbey.)
  • Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay (I cannot wait to read her new book Hunger.)
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (It was also my first time reading this. It took some time to get into it, but I really enjoyed it. I would totally reread it.)
  • The Unfinished World and Other Stories by Amber Sparks (This is a collection of short stories. They are absolutely stunning. I added a link to the book since it might be a little more difficult to find at your local library but would totally be worth purchasing if you are interested. I really cannot say enough good things about this book.)

That’s what I have been reading. I have also started listening to the podcast Secret Feminist Agenda. It is great! Go check it out!

Leave a comment